• Categories
  • Archives
  • Advertisement

TUU Election: The results (so far)

UPDATE: As the tallying of ballots have come to a close for today, a recent update on Vote Voice’s Facebook page announces that some more positions have been filled.

The most current results are as follows:

State Council

Campus President South – Maria Daglas
Campus President North – Dan Probert

SRC – South

International Officer – Jamal Zahid
Welfare Officer – Kathryn Martin

SRC – North

Secretary – Shaziye Parish
Activities Officer – May Lim
International Officer – Afiq Arshad
Welfare Officer – Connor Wass
Environment Officer – Maybelline Chang
Women’s Officer – Syafinaz Mahmood
Darlinghurst (Sydney) Representative – Lauren Harper
ATSI Officer – Erin Chick
Disabilities Officer – Tom Robinson

Postgraduate Council

Secretary – Rachel Ta
International Students Officer – Arno Dubois
Welfare Officer – Ellen Manning
Southern Representative – Graham Gourlay
Northern Representative – Jahangiri Sanaz

Education Council

Vice President – Oliver Hopewell
Secretary – Pragya Gupta
Education Officer – South – Austen Hawkins
Education Officer – North – Iman Sabbagh


The first round of results in the Tasmanian University Union (TUU) Elections are being counted, and so far Voice are winning the majority of positions, including State President.

Voice candidate for State President, Clark Cooley, has successfully won the position with 622 votes, compared to Empower Your TUU candidate Isaac Ball’s 236 votes.

The position of General Secretary has gone to Tarek Muhtaseb of the Voice ticket with 584 votes to Empower’s 247 votes for Stephen James Cronin.

Societies President has gone to Vivi Perry of the Voice ticket with 553, compared to Gary Low’s 268 votes.

Independent, Gaby Tregurtha, who was recommended by the Empower ticket was elected the role of Sports President unopposed, while Voice’s Jess Robinson is now Education President with 600 votes to Padraig Pearce’s 216.

The Postgraduate Council is also taking shape, with Voice’s Joey Crawford and Muhammad Abid taking out the roles of President and Vice-President respectively.

Thus far, the results for seven positions have been determined, with Voice taking out six of those.

We will bring you more results as the votes are counted.


  • Show Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

comment *

  • name *

  • email *

  • website *