TUU Elections: Nominations Announced

An incoming postgraduate student has had their nomination disqualified in Tasmania University Union (TUU) student representative elections following an eligibility check of each nominee.

According to the TUU Postgraduate Representative eligibility policy, only students who are currently enrolled as a Research Higher Degrees Candidate or Coursework Postgraduate student at the University of Tasmania are eligible for the position.

In an email to the student, TUU Executive Officer Jenny Hart said current undergraduate students, even though they intend to undertake postgraduate study during the year of the upcoming term, are ineligible.

The student could be considered eligible within months.

28 nominations were received for the 27 positions up for grabs.

9 positions received no nominations, with the entire SRC Cradle Coast left vacant.

The race for Societies President is heating up, with incumbent Morgan Read to face off with Elevate’s candidate Gabrielle Carswell.

Morgan was originally approached to join the Elevate ticket but declined the offer.

“If as president I choose to collaborate with other representatives at the TUU, it is because I believe that is what is best for societies, not because I feel obligated to them for getting me elected,” Morgan said on her campaign Facebook event.

Sharifah Syed Rohan will likely be elected on an approval ballot to the position of President, with no other candidate nominating.

The 2018 Campus President South is leading the 16 member Elevate ticket.

Elevate’s Matthew Clark will be up against Vinesh Loganathan in the race for Deputy President.

2018 Postgraduate Officer on the SRC South Alex Guibord will face off with Elevate’s Michael Tarbeth for Sports President.

Harry Payne has been elected unopposed as Environment Officer on the SRC South but also nominated for the position of Welfare Officer. It is unclear whether he will contest the ballot for the Welfare position.

On the SRC North, it’s a four-way race for the position of Welfare Officer. Incumbent Suqi Lim will be going against three other candidates, Cindy Goh from Elevate, Margaret McGowan, and Kai Mun Chan.

Incumbent Kenneth Wu will face off with Sing An Chew for the position of International Students Officer.

2018 Environment Officer Eliza Kimlin is being challenged by Brayden Tan and Elevate’s Kalen Holdaway.

A full list of nominations can be found on the TUU website.

Polling will be conducted online from Tuesday 9 October to Thursday 11 October. Students eligible to vote will receive an email at the commencement of voting containing a link to the online ballot.

Results will be released on Friday 12 October. Stay up to date by following @togatus_ and #polituu #TUUelections on Twitter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *