UTas Continues Transition to Become Smoke-Free

Smoking will be banned in most areas at University of Tasmania campuses from  31 May, as part of a transition to make all UTas campuses smoke-free.

Smoking is currently allowed in most areas on campuses but will soon be restricted to designated areas. The restriction also applies to the use of e-cigarettes.

There will be seven designated areas at the Sandy Bay campus, six at the Newnham campus and one on the Cradle Coast.

Students and staff not adhering to the new rules face a fine between $159 and $318.

However, UTas said the initial stages of the transition will communicate information about the new smoke-free status.

The transition date coincides with ‘World No Tobacco Day’.

UTas said it is “committed to providing a healthy environment for staff, students, affiliates and volunteers and the provision of smoke-free spaces is a core part of this commitment.”

In the Tasmania University Union Standing Policy, last updated in March 2017, the TUU states its opposition to a smoke-free campus policy.

“The freedom and liberty of people choosing to smoke cigarettes should not be inhibited where it is not negatively affecting the health of other students.”

“The TUU endorses the provision of smoker areas to ensure the health and safety of students who choose not to participate in the consumption of tobacco.”

By the end of 2019, there will be limited or no designated smoking areas remaining on UTas campuses.

For more information go to http://www.utas.edu.au/work-health-safety/myhealth/smoke-free.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *